Skip to content

It’s Whitney’s Fault

October 20, 2012

I blame my daughter, Whitney, for the name of this blog. When I say blame, I mean thank. If not for her playfulness, this blog wouldn’t exist yet because I’d still be stuck trying to come up with just the right name for it. “Dizzy Stir” may sound silly, but it couldn’t be more perfect.

A few years ago Whitney started changing up the way she pronounced words. Not every word, just random words here and there when the mood struck her. She might change which syllable was emphasized, or change long vowels to short vowels, and vice versa. For example, she might pronounce vanilla “VAN-uh-luh” instead of “vuh-NIL-uh.” You’ve probably heard Target pronounced “Tar-ZHEY” or JC Penney pronounced “Jacques Pen-NAY.”  That’s kind of what Whitney does when she changes up words. She has a knack for picking the perfect word to transform when no one is expecting it, and with very few exceptions the new words are pretty comical.

“Dizzy Stir” evolved from one of what I call “Whitney-isms”.

One day I walked into another daughter’s bedroom to find the familiar fifty shades of pig sty. The floor seemed to be missing. Literally. No hint of carpet anywhere. It was so thoroughly camouflaged in clothing, towels, shoes, and a multitude of other things that one might believe she was actually trying to hide her floor.

I told Courtney (oops…outed the other daughter!) that her room was a DISASTER. {Stating the obvious is often necessary with teenagers.}

Without missing a beat, Whitney entered the scene and chimed in sounding like a circus ringmaster with a thick French accent:

“IT’S A DIZZY-STIR!” I sensed an invisible megaphone.

It took me a second to realize what she said.

“Did you say dizzy-stir?”  I spoke in laugh-words, sans the accent.

She nodded and erupted into her hearty Whitney laugh. I think even she was caught off-guard with how well this new Whitney-ism worked. We laughed until we had tears in our eyes. I’m pretty sure I walked around saying, “It’s a dizzy-stir!” with a {clumsy} French accent the rest of the day, and I laughed every time.

Not all Whitney-isms stick. Some are forgotten pretty quickly. “Dizzy-Stir” is one we still use on a fairly frequent basis. We no longer have disasters. We have dizzy-stirs.

You might be wondering why I’d want to name my blog something that actually means “DISASTER.” It sounds like I’m cursing this blog to fail.

I admit, sometimes I feel like a disaster. Sometimes life gets overwhelming, I spread myself too thin, and I feel like I’m doing too many things not very well. Some days I feel like a disaster as a wife and parent. Some days I feel like a disaster as a Christian, friend, daughter, sister, aunt, granddaughter, writer, crafter, teacher, housekeeper, etc. In fact, I have felt that way at some point in almost every area of my life. Who HASN’T experienced this from time to time?

When I started thinking about blogging, I had to consider what I would write about. I brainstormed possible topics:

  • My daily life
  • Photography
  • Crafting
  • Maybe actually DOING some of the things I’ve pinned on Pinterest
  • Unfinished projects
  • Enthusiasm vs. apathy
  • Home schooling
  • Long distance relationships
  • Family, immediate and extended
  • My beloved Boxer pets
  • Overcoming things like negativity, depression, and other not-so-fun life issues

These are just a few things that crossed my mind. I filled notebook pages with ideas. Before long, I was overwhelmed. I pushed my notebook aside and thought, “What a disaster!”

Light bulb moment: DISASTER = DIZZY-STIR.

The word “disaster” brings feelings of failure and defeat. “Dizzy-Stir,” on the other hand, sounds a little crazy, but feels more like “fasten your seat belts; it’s gonna be a wild ride!” {Especially when spoken with a fake French accent.}

In that moment I went from feeling overwhelmed and defeated to feeling energized and motivated. A name like “Dizzy-Stir” leaves me wide open to blog about anything and everything. It is also pretty synonymous with a typical day in my life. No matter how much I plan ahead, my days rarely look like a plan was ever devised. I never know what’s going to happen next, but it’s unlikely to be boring. Exhausting, maybe, but never boring.

Fasten your seat belts. It’s gonna be a wild ride, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. I love this!!! dizz-stir is the perfect definition for your chaotic life with an abundance of children, tons of puppies, and your husband.of course with definition you gave it. I laughed through the entire thing thinking of whitney runnning in on you saying that and he busting into her obnoxious laugh….lol…and then you guys repeating it…made me miss you guys even more…love you mommy! keep up the good work

    • We miss you, too! You’re usually in on all of the obnoxious laughing. *Sigh* Good times

  2. This was perfect! I'm laughing, and I can't wait to use your coined phrase.

  3. It fits, its awesome. Keep writing, dont ever get discouraged, there will be days when you get one hit on your site, and others when you get ten, and then one hundred, and then ZERO. Regardless, keep writing.

  4. IT FITS! Keep writing. Don't ever get discouraged, there will be days when you get one hit on your site, then ten, then maybe a hundred, and then a week of ZERO, dont stress. Write, write a LOT. THAT is what matters.

    • Thanks, Eric! You give great feedback. You know I’ll always be looking for it. No pressure. 🙂

  5. I love the name. And I'm up for a wild ride! Sounds like fun.

    • Well, Tracie, you have just made my day! This is officially the first comment from someone I’ve never met! Woohoo! I will be sure to check your blog out. Thanks for visiting mine, and for leaving a comment. You started my day with JOY. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Keepin’ it Dizzy « Rhonda Erb
  2. Things I Tell Myself « Rhonda Erb
  3. Daily Prompt: All About Me « Dizzy Stir
  4. Dizzy Stir
  5. New Challenge | Dizzy Stir
  6. D is for Dizzy. Duh. | Dizzy Stir
  7. Just Do It, Already | Dizzy Stir

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

5 Things to Do Today

If you always do what you always did then you always get what you always got

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

