Skip to content

Gettin’ My High With Grandma

February 1, 2013

I’ve got 10 minutes to get a post in today to meet my Post A Day Challenge. Can you say Highs & Lows?

My High for today was spending time with my Grandma. I spend every Thursday afternoon with her. She is ninety-four years old. I take her lunch and help her with things like dishes, laundry, changing sheets, showers, and other domestic things that have become difficult for her to do on her own. My favorite part is listening to her stories. I don’t mind that I’ve heard most of them countless times; in fact, I soak up every repeated detail. That way I know I will remember the stories when she is no longer around to tell them.

Today was especially fun. I finally got around to making two photo albums for her with pictures of my two daughters’ weddings. She is house-bound and could not attend, so I labeled each picture as if narrating the events for her. She was so cute looking at each picture with her glasses AND her magnifying glass. She smiled and commented on how beautiful the girls were and how handsome the men were. She threw her head back and laughed at the funny moments. She got tears in her eyes when I told her she could keep the albums. I stayed an hour longer than usual just going through each and every picture with her, but I didn’t even notice I had been there that long.

My Low for today would have to be when I got cranky with my husband. I’ve been a little sleep deprived lately and it was catching up with me about the time he called me. We had a bad connection and I was cutting out and had to keep repeating myself. I got irritated and raised my voice, but couldn’t blame it entirely on the bad connection. I told him I was sorry that I was cranky and that I was just tired, and the fact that it’s never quiet in my house is harder to take when I’m exhausted. The problem was I didn’t soften up when I said all of this.

My sweet husband at this point apologized for hearing me wrong. My response was that I didn’t need him to apologize—I was just explaining why I was raising my voice. Only at this point I fear I was closer to yelling. 😦

As soon as I said that he just let out a good-natured laugh and graciously let me off the phone with a promise to call me later. I am so thankful my husband has learned after all these years not to take it personally when I’m a shrew.

I just hope I wasn’t his Low for today!

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. You will always be my high, never my low. I love you!

  2. I hope that you are continuing to take and show her pictures of Amelia. Let her know that we miss her and love her!!!

    • I do! Yesterday. I showed her from the phone the 8 month picture you posted on Facebook. Next time I print some out for myself I’ll print some for her, too!

  3. Kensi Kempf permalink

    I love reading you posts. Makes me so glad you are pursuing something you love. I never fail to laugh at something in your post. Been feeling down for the last couple of days and reading things about our family always makes me giggle and miss everyone. Sorry it’s taken so long to finally read of of them. But I love them all! Keep it up! Love you so much and am so proud of you!!!!

    • Kensi Kempf permalink

      Awe you commit us sweet Timafeet! And by the way mum. I did gripe about highs and lows at the dinner table but now that I don’t have it anymore I miss it. I make Aaron do it with me and tell him that we will do it with our babies too!

      • Kensi Kempf permalink

        That’s was suppose to say ” awe! Your comment was sweet Timafeet!” Lol

      • No, he hasn’t committed any of us yet, but I’m sure he has wanted to! haha, I know that is probably a typo, but I couldn’t resist!
        Glad you are carrying on the high and low tradition. It’s funny the things you miss once you grow up and leave, isn’t it?

    • Aw, I’m sorry you’ve been feeling down! I hope this cheered you up a little. We miss you, too, all the time! I can’t wait until you’re back in Amarillo!

  4. treymc44 permalink

    My low for the Last few days is the YOU WONT POST ANYTHING!!!!! Lol jk no but seriously

  5. I’ve really dropped the ball, haven’t I? I’m trying to get back in the groove, though!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Just Do It, Already | Dizzy Stir

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

