Skip to content

My Favorite Nag

February 19, 2013

You mean Post A Day means EVERY day, not just one day?

Man, I thought I had that challenge NAILED! In the future I will read the fine print.

I’m kidding. I am just trying to divert attention away from the fact that it has been many, many days since I’ve posted. Thus far I have failed this challenge, but I’ve discovered something more valuable: My greatest supporter.

There a handful of people following and supporting my writing efforts. Only a couple of them aren’t related to me.

Family or not, I appreciate each and every one of them. I appreciate every word of praise and encouragement (especially when left in the form of a comment on a blog post…hint, hint).

I appreciate all the virtual “high fives” and the few who take time to comment on every post.

My daughter, Kensi, is my most enthusiastic cheerleader, and it means the world to me.

But this is about the kind of support that makes me want to conquer the procrastinator in me. It’s about the kind of support that makes me laugh defiantly in the face of all life’s busy-ness that keeps me from writing.

I’m talking about my just-turned-sixteen-year-old nephew, Trey.

He has become a loyal commenter. He even volunteered to be my GUARANTEED commenter. (You thought I was kidding, didn’t you, Trey?)

But his comments and kudos aren’t why he is my greatest supporter at this point. He gets that title because he nags me. That’s right. He NAGS. In a good way, of course.

When he repeatedly asks why I haven’t posted, it lights a fire under me. It’s easy as a newbie blogger to get discouraged or apathetic. Out of the handful of people following me, probably only half have actually read all of my posts. Even fewer leave comments, although I’m not above begging. 🙂

I understand. Really. I mean, I’m just Rhonda, and people are busy. I get it. But it’s easy to procrastinate when you know no one is anxiously awaiting the next thing you have to say.

Trey lets me know he’s waiting. Often.

So here’s to you, Trey. As a reward, you get free car detailing for life.

Oh…Right. That’s YOUR business, not mine.

Ok, so if you want to give ME free car detailing for life, I could probably handle it. For being such a great supporter, I guess you’ll have to settle for my sincere gratitude.

Side note: Trey owns his own business as a mobile car detailer. I’m not sure if that’s what it’s officially called, but it’s pretty impressive given that he’s only sixteen.

Trey, you rock!

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Awe I’m glad you got someone NAGGING you so that you continue doing this! Way to go TREY! Keep up the good work mum! I love you being your cheerleader by the way lol

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    I love you and being your cheerleader*

    • Ha ha! I knew what you meant, but in this case I’m kinda glad you corrected it! 🙂 I love you more!

  3. Whitney Cox permalink

    Go Trey! Just kidding, you’re great too mom 😉 This post makes me think I need to give Trey a call!

    • You need to give him a call? So he can nag you, too? Ha ha! You’re great, too, Miss Whitney! 🙂

  4. I am so HONORED to be your biggest NAG!!! lol and to have been mentioned in your post! keep up the GREAT work! and don’t worry i will still be nagging everyday! lol and Thank you! you rock Aunt Rhonda!

    Soooo another blog tomorrow?!?!? lol

    • It’s a pretty big honor, you know.
      And yes, hopefully another post tomorrow! Thanks for the encouragement that never fails. 🙂

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

5 Things to Do Today

If you always do what you always did then you always get what you always got

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

