Skip to content

My Little Secret

February 21, 2013

Not everyone knows this about me, but I have an online greeting card store. I opened it on Greeting Card Universe in May of 2009. It was just a little side hobby born of a desire to actually use all of the photos I took.

Back then, I took pictures ALL.THE.TIME.

I’ve always loved taking pictures. My first camera was a little Kodak Star 110 back in the 70’s. I’ve been taking pictures ever since.

Fast forward to the digital age. I shot through a few cheap digital cameras, but with five kids in various sports, my picture-taking climbed to a new level. So did my frustration with cheap digital cameras. They just didn’t cut the mustard in sports settings. Between the less-than-desirable lighting in most gyms and the rapid movements of volleyball, basketball, and football, I deleted more photos than I kept.

For my fortieth birthday my husband got me a Canon Rebel XTI and an extra zoom lens. It made a world of difference in the sports settings and I took thousands of pictures.

Since we had sports events several days of each week, I pretty much always had all of my camera gear with me. Therefore, I was always taking pictures.

That also kept me on the right side of the camera. {I’m not very photogenic.}

(Last summer my sweet hubby bought me a Canon Rebel T2i for no other reason than he stumbled up on a good sale. Love that man!)

Before long, I needed to purchase an external hard-drive to store all of the pictures. I burned photo cd’s for all the teammates of the various teams, and enjoyed making comics out of some of the pictures. I also shared photos via Photobucket, MySpace, and Facebook.

All the other pictures I took just stagnated in my hard drive. That’s where the greeting cards came in.

I don’t even remember how I discovered Greeting Card Universe. I’d never heard of such a thing so it was purely accidental, I’m sure. I decided I could use this venue to combine my love of photography with my love of words.

Before I invite you to peruse my card store, I have to tell you, I don’t have very many cards. I created cards for a few months when I had time. Some of my cards are unusual or for occasions that don’t happen every day. The cards that make you go “what the…” were most likely created in response to special requests (like the fibromyalgia cards and the angelic giraffe). I had intentions of creating cards for every single category, mind you. There are thousands of categories. (Remember our family motto?)

That's my Mama.

That’s my Mama.

Then, as usual, life got busy and I stopped creating cards. I didn’t even come CLOSE to over-doing it. (Sorry, Mom).

However, my online store is still open. I don’t make a ton of sales, but I have to say it has been pretty steady. Kinda cool considering I haven’t created a card or done anything with my store since some time in 2009.

The real excitement is when I get an email notification that one of my cards has sold. I love seeing which card sold and where the card was purchased. They’ve been purchased all over the United States and even in the UK once.

Every time I get an email notification I forward it to my husband, daughters, Mom, and sister sharing my success as if I’ve just published a best-selling novel. They are very gracious to respond with congratulations and flattery, but they probably wish I’d stop announcing every single card sale.

If you’d like to see my greeting cards, go to www.greetingcarduniverse.com/rhondascardstore

Now anyone who reads this blog will know my little secret, and I can relieve my family of the pressure to reply to my emails with adulation. {Now they can do it publicly.} No pressure.

In my next post I’ll embarrass my daughter by showing you my best-selling card. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Kensi Kempf permalink

    I’m totally putting yours and grandma’s quotes somewhere in my house. Lol gotta love our family quotes. Great post. Reminds me of the good ole volleyball days and the camera permanently attached to your hands. Lol….also love seeing all the different things you dabble in. Although I already know, seeing it together reminds me of all the little things you do. One creative woman you are.

    • Aw, thanks, Kensi! I could be more creative if I could manage my time better. 😦 I’m workin’ on it, though!

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Your just busting these blogs out now! Yeeeeaaaa! Get-er-done lol

  3. I have always loved your pictures; they helped so much when I was away working to “see” what my family was doing.

  4. treymc44 permalink

    Nice to see you have a giant fire under you! Lol glad you are posting again!!! Ke

    -Favorite NAG

    • treymc44 permalink

      Meant to say keep it going but accidentally pushed post.

  5. Ha ha, Trey. You know I meant that in a good way. 🙂 Or maybe you didn’t, since you’ve disappeared. LOL

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

5 Things to Do Today

If you always do what you always did then you always get what you always got

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

