Skip to content

We Have a Winner

February 23, 2013

As promised, I’m here to embarrass my daughter.

Okay, that doesn’t sound right. It’s not my GOAL to embarrass my daughter. I just know this post will embarrass her.

But she didn’t forbid it. 🙂

In my previous post you learned that I have an online greeting card store. If you were paying attention you also know I’m not making a killing.  I get a fairly steady stream of email notifications that one of my cards has sold.  On average, this happens once or twice a month.

That may not sound all that exciting, but it is.  It’s fun to know that someone actually paid money for something I created. It isn’t about the money. My commission for one card sale is 28 cents.

It’s about someone wanting something I created. It’s a good feeling.

One particular card has been dominating the sales.  In case you haven’t figured it out, my daughter is on the front of the card.

Doing a back bend.

In a dress.

And heels.

To see the card in the store, click here. This is the picture I used on the front of the card:

The inside of the card says "Thanks for bending over backwards!"

The inside of the card says “Thanks for bending over backwards!”

I have sold 194 cards total.  This particular card has sold 64 times.  The last time it sold was two days ago, which happens to be the day this post was supposed to be written.

I think this is really cool, but Whitney just closes her eyes and shakes her head every time I tell her that her card sold and the location it has sold in. Each time I’ll send out an email to family saying something like “Whitney’s bending over in North Carolina today!”  Seriously, the girl has been all over the map!

It doesn’t stop there.  On February 13th of this year, I received an email from Greeting Card Universe notifying me that “Bending Over Backwards” was chosen as GCU’s Design of the Day and would be featured on GCU’s homepage for  24 hours as well as GCU’s Facebook page.  How awesome is that?!

The downfall is that in the “Dizzy Stir” that I call my life, I didn’t see that email until two days later.  I didn’t get to see it featured on the GCU homepage or GCU facebook.  😦

I missed it, but it’s exciting anyway!

When I decided to share the excitement by posting about this card, I logged into my card store for the first time in months, maybe even years. When I did, I found that someone had also left a very nice testimonial on my store front, and it was about the “Bending Over Backwards” card. That was in November.

Steady sales. Highest sales. Featured on Design of the Day. Customer testimonial.  All in all, I thought this card deserved a blog post.

Sorry, Whitney.

But just a little. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Whitney Cox permalink

    I’m not really embarassed, but I don’t particularly love that picture. I do, however, think that since I am obviously your best selling model, we should be taking more pictures for your cards! 😉

    • I actually meant to say that, that you didn’t like the picture. Guess I could go back and put that in. haha
      It was fun taking pictures that day. It would be fun to do it again!

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Hahaha I love whits face in the picture!!! Keep up the blogs mom!

    • I love her face, too. She doesn’t really like this card. Oh well, I guess there are a lot of other people who DO like it, or it wouldn’t be selling so frequently! 🙂

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

