Skip to content

Ginger

April 9, 2013

a-to-z-letters-g

 

Welcome to my tribute to Ginger, a family member no longer with us.  She will always be in our hearts.

2005_07_15_211

We rescued Ginger from the  Amarillo Animal Control Shelter in 2005.  She was to be my daughter’s fifteenth birthday present. She came from a litter of several puppies. There was one that looked exactly like her that was sweet and calm.  I recommended THAT one to Kensi.

As we tried to check out (through the cage) the more docile pup, her rambunctious twin kept butting between the cage door and her sister. She wanted our attention. She chewed at the cage door and eagerly licked our fingers.  Her tail wagged in wild excitement.

Of course Kensi chose the playful puppy over the calm puppy.

We took this joyful little puppy to the play area at the shelter to see if she might be a fit.  Kensi fell in love with her almost immediately. The adoption process began.

As Ginger grew, she remained playful, hyper, and PUSHY, just like when we first met her. As her tail grew along with her, she frequently knocked over lamps, candlesticks, or whatever else was sitting at tail level.

I have to say she could be a real pain. She barked a lot.  She didn’t like it when there was any “ruckus” of any kind.  When the kids wrestled, she barked and nipped at the guilty parties until they stopped. She never hurt them, but she let them know their behavior was unacceptable.

For some reason she didn’t like it  when the kids jumped on the trampoline. She’d bark and nip at them from underneath the trampoline. Sometimes the kids would lock her inside the house so they could jump in peace.  Ginger watched from inside the glass doors and barked incessantly until I couldn’t stand listening to it anymore.

Although she was a real pain sometimes, she was also very smart, loving, and affectionate. It was hard to stay mad at her for long.

2006-12  Christmas stuff 603

I couldn’t help but smile as I went through old photos to chronicle her time with us. I hope you enjoy them as well.

march 06 005

That’s Ginger with my boxer, Layla. We brought Layla home shortly after we adopted Ginger. They are pretty much the same age. They were the best of friends from the start (and the worst of friends, sometimes, too!).

dog training cropped

This is Ginger and Layla at their Obedience Training class. If the picture was a better quality, you wouldn’t have to look so hard to see that Ginger is muzzled. She barked when she was nervous and sometimes bit at people. She had to stay muzzled for all of the classes. it was a crazy adventure with both of our dogs. Kensi and I were worn out at the end of every class. 🙂

2006-12  new years eve 089

Here are our girls, lounging on the king sized bed like the royalty they believed themselves to be.

2006-12  new years eve 098

Ginger was ever on the alert if she heard the slightest noise.

↓ Sometimes we shut the psycotic dogs in the bedroom if we had guests. One evening Whitney had a Bible study group at our house so into the bedroom the little princess hounds went.  It was quite pathetic. They stayed by the bedroom door the entire time.  Note the scratches on the bottom of the door in the following slide show. They protested these cruel confinements. ↓

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

↑ Try to ignore the unpainted door. I’ll get to it someday. 🙂 ↑

ginger surprise

♥Did I mention that Ginger and Layla were close friends?♥

2006 09 brownfield 222

Ginger barked relentlessly at the lawn mower. And yes, dog ownership is really hard on a yard. It’s come a long way since then. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ginger high five

This is Ginger giving a “high five” for a treat.

The following slide show is about things Ginger loved:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She was a good sport at Christmas:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ginger was a beautiful dog.

Ginger was a beautiful dog.

 

Ginger was happy and playful.

Ginger was happy and playful.

 

Whaddup, dawg?

Whaddup, dawg?

 

Rest in peace, Ginger. You are forever loved and missed.

 

From → Uncategorized

14 Comments
  1. Memories! She was such a character; super sweet and super psycho.

  2. What a wonderful tribute to Ginger. May she rest in peace. Dropped by from the A-Z blog, good luck with the rest of the challenge!

    • Thank you so much for dropping by, and for the sentiments! I will drop by your blog, too!

  3. treymc44 permalink

    Awe she was soo cute! I remember when she use to slide under that CD cabinet by your front door! Lol…… keep on typing!

    • Trey, I actually looked for a picture of that. I couldn’t find my pictures from when she was smaller. I either just didn’t have a great camera back then or staying up until 5:00 am finding pictures for a post just isn’t a good idea. 🙂

  4. Sorry for your loss. Cute pictures of a healthy and much loved family member. I had to put down my dog years ago after 15 1/2 years of enjoying her company. I plan a tribute for her at a future post.

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. We had to put Ginger, down, as well. It was probably the hardest day of my daughter’s life. I look forward to your tribute to your own beloved pet.

  5. This is a beautiful tribute to a loved friend. 🙂

  6. What a sweet post about an adorable pup!

    • Thank you! We miss her, especially when we look at old pictures. She had such personality.

  7. Kensi Kempf permalink

    It’s taken me a bit to comment on this one because it is hard to find th words to explain how I feel. Of course this blog is close to my heart. I have cried several times going back over it and seeing all the pictures of her. I don’t think I will ever bond with another animal on the level that I did with Ginger. My gin-gin that could, lol, my gingerale. I know she could be a little tough to handle at times. Her stubbornness out weighed mine which I never though lt could be possible, but She also had the biggest heart. I miss her every single day. She was the best birthday gift I could have ever recieved. Thank you for giving her to me, and allowing all the time I had with her. I’m glad to see Ginger was loved by others as well. You captured so many good pictures of her. Thank you for this tribute to her. I love it! I’m going to have to print it out or put it on a cd. You have so many of my favorite pictures of her on here.

    • I hoped it wouldn’t upset you, but thought you would like Ginger being remembered. I forgot about you calling her your little Gin-Gin that could and Gingerale. Haha

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

