Skip to content

Just Do It, Already

April 12, 2013

a-to-z-letters-j

 

If you know me personally or if you’ve read any of my previous posts, you know my life is sometimes a little nuts.  In fact, my life could be compared to this Blogging A to Z Challenge.  Countless bloggers signed up in advance and even wrote many (or all) of their posts in advance or at least had them planned ahead of time.

Me? I stumbled upon the challenge by accident on the day the challenge started.  Not one to turn away from a challenge, I jumped right in.  Some bloggers have a theme for the entire challenge.  My theme is (not on purpose) FLYING-BY-THE-SEAT-OF-MY-PANTS.  I figure out each day what I’m going to post, then get back to my life without thinking about it again, because there just aren’t enough hours in the day for me to write more than one post without neglecting the rest of my life. Especially if a topic doesn’t come to me quickly. As it is, it’s mostly sleep I’m neglecting to keep up with this challenge.

My life is sometimes the epitome of FLYING-BY-THE-SEAT-OF-MY-PANTS. (Imagine my frustration since I’m a planner at heart and I crave order.) Because of the state of my life that I affectionately call a DIZZY STIR,  I have many projects that have been waiting for a very long time to be finished. Make no mistake, I have all kinds of things that are weeks and even months behind schedule. I’ve got several spiral-notebook pages of lists to prove it. But those aren’t the projects I’m talking about.

The unfinished projects I’m talking about are things I started YEARS ago and didn’t finish.  I’ve made a list of these projects with the year each was started (and supposed to be finished):

 

Unfinished project list

 

I put the items on this list in order from oldest to most recent.  Do you see the oldest date? Shameful, I know.

My oldest daughter and I were talking the other day about the things we’d like to do this summer while she is off work from her job in the public school system.  Crafting is one of the things we love to do, but never have time for.  We decided we would only be able to do this if we actually schedule time for it and make it happen.  We’ll have to JUST DO IT.

I’ve adopted the same attitude with my unfinished projects.

The bad news is I’ve got projects dating back eight years.  The good news is that it’s really only seven years because I already completed a couple of these, the oldest being one of them.  I’ve been planning this post since I first started this blog and I just haven’t done it.  (Nothing on the list was finished when I made the list.) Today, I decided to JUST DO IT. Because it’s “J” day. 🙂

I’d like to explain each thing on the list, but that would make this post too long.  So I will leave you in suspense, except for the two that I have accomplished.  Each time I finish one, I’ll post about it.  I’ll even post pictures when appropriate.

So, I’ll tell you about the oldest project and first to be marked off as DONE:

photo (1)

 

My Mom’s quilt:  Eight years ago my mom graduated from her classes and received her certification in Interior Design.  Personally, I think she could have taught the class.  Everyone who knows her thought the same thing.  I am so proud of her for going back to school in her fifties.  I’m even more proud that she KILLED IT, although I never had a doubt that she would.  She has a knack for making everything beautiful.

For her graduation I made her a quilt composed of all the fabric samples she collected and used for her class projects.  It made for an unusual quilt because most of the fabrics she collected were heavier materials and even upholstery-type fabrics.  If you know anything about quilting, you know that the most common quilt top material is cotton.  The heavier fabrics are harder to work with and more difficult to quilt.

Before I show you pictures of the quilt, know that I am not an experienced quilter. Be kind about the flaws. 🙂

Before this gift for my mom, I had made only two other quilt tops.  One is still waiting to be quilted.

{Great. Another unfinished project to add to the list, and it’s older than this one.}

I had the other one quilted by a professional quilter.  I had never done the quilting part before and I was donating that  quilt to my daughters’ volleyball teams to use for a raffle fundraiser.  Because of time issues I paid someone to do the quilting, then I added the binding and it was finished in time for the fundraiser.

So mom’s quilt was the first quilt I completed all by my lonesome.  (Leave it to me to make my first quilting rodeo one that involved heavy fabrics.)

In cutting out the quilt pieces, I began to run short on fabric. To make up for it,  I added in a few scraps from projects that meant something to me, which I will point out for you.

Here are some pictures of the quilt in the quilting and binding stages:

 

Mom's Quilt 003

 

 

 

Here are some pictures with the heavier fabrics circled (click on the picture for a larger view):

 

 

Next are pictures of scraps from previous projects.  I included them in Mom’s quilt because I was running low on her school project scraps, but I didn’t want to use just any fabric.  All of her scraps represented her taste, her flair, and the hard work she put into her projects.  I wanted the fabrics I added to mean something, as well.

 

This faux leather (vinyl) scrap is from a Roman soldier costume I  made for an Easter production at church.

This faux leather (vinyl) scrap is from a Roman soldier costume I made for an Easter production at church.

 

I sewed my very first quilt top in a quilt class that Whitney and I took together not long before I made Mom’s quilt.  I made a quilt top for Kensi in her chosen colors, which were her volleyball team’s colors—red, black, and white.  Whitney chose fabrics in gold and black tones for her first quilt top. They blended very nicely with the fabrics in Mom’s quilt:

 

This fabric is from the first quilt top I made.

This fabric is from the first quilt top I made.

 

These are fabrics from Whitney's first quilt top.

These are fabrics from Whitney’s first quilt top.

 

I finished this quilt in October of last year for Mom’s birthday.  She was so surprised.  After waiting for over seven years, I’m sure she thought I’d never really finish it.  I was so excited to get it to her I forgot to take pictures of the finished product. 😦

The other project I have been able to mark off of this list is…(drum roll please)…

photo (2)

 

I finished #4 on March 31st of this year,  which was to make photo albums for my grandma with pictures from my two daughters’ weddings 2010 and 2011.  You can read about the day I gave them to her in my post “Gettin’ My High With Grandma”.

The next one I am going to tackle is a surprise, but I intend to do it this weekend.  I am spending the weekend at my Mom’s house to get away from all distractions. I scheduled the time and I’m determined to get ‘er done!

Do you have projects as old (or older) than mine?  I’d love to hear about it.

Maybe it would help you to take the JUST DO IT approach. Schedule a time, and JUST DO IT.

And wish me luck. Hopefully by the end of the weekend I can report back on which project can be marked off the list.

 

 

From → Projects

15 Comments
  1. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Glad your spending more time doing fun things like that. I bet grandma was happy. The quilt looks beautiful from the pics you posted. I forgot you where making me a quilt. Did you finish that one? Where is it? Lol it’s been to long. I remember you working on it, but can’t remember you giving it to me. But I am on medicine from my surgery so that may be why lol. Maybe when I come home we can do some of that stuff on you list. Keep it up! Two down, a lot to go. Lol. But you’re getting there!

    • Thanks, Kensi. It turned out pretty, if I do say so myself. 🙂 Yes, I still have the quilt I was making you. It’s somewhere in the depths of all my sewing stuff. I’ll finish someday. I should have added it to the list. Maybe before I take another picture of the list I can add it.

  2. Gloria Jackson permalink

    The quilt turned out beautiful and it was worth the wait! I was very happy to get it and it looks beautiful in my home.Of course I cherish it because you made it with your own hands and the fact that it holds special memories. I love the the fact you are taking on the “Just Do IT” attitude. It will make life a lot more fun and productive. I need to do that when it comes to my closet. Ha Ha. Looking forward to seeing you this weekend and hopefully you can cross off at least one thing off your list. Keep up the good work. I know you can do it! 🙂

    • Thanks, Mom. I’m looking forward to this weekend even if I don’t finish something. I’m gonna try, though!

  3. treymc44 permalink

    I love this! And love what you did with the quilt! I know Grandma loves it because it came purely from the heart and your own hands! Keep up the, Just do it! Love that you are getting your list done! Have fun this weekend!

    P. S do I get a prize if I guess what you are making off next!?!??

  4. Su-sieee! Mac permalink

    Your mom’s quilt is a beauty! I’ve been thinking about making a quilt this year. Maybe I’ll get out the box of cut-out pieces for the quilt I planned to make uhm in 1996. I even know where the box is.

    Don’t be a Hippie
    Take 25 to Hollister

  5. I love your “J”! So many times I need to say that to myself too. Thanks for the award.

    • Thank you! I pretty much have to tell myself that every day! And you’re most welcome, you deserve it.! Can’t wait to read your answers and questions!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. People of ProcrastiNation: Meet Your Queen | Dizzy Stir

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

