Skip to content

Kibbles & Kids

April 13, 2013

a-to-z-letters-k

My youngest daughter, Courtney, has always been an animal lover. When she was little she let cats and dogs wallow all over her and lick her face. She’s almost eighteen years old now, and not much has changed.

When Courtney was around four years old, we were dog-sitting my sister’s two Schnauzers, Max and Dollar.  I could hear Courtney outside playing with the pups on our back patio.

I walked outside to see her hand-feeding some dry dog food to each dog, taking turns.  I was startled when she took a turn, popping a kibble of the canine cuisine into her own mouth.

I explained to my precious four-year old why we can’t partake of the same food as our furry friends.  I schooled her on how dog food is designed for the nutritional needs of dogs, and that the nutritional needs of humans are very different and that is why we must only eat human food.

I was pleased to have her undivided, wide-eyed attention throughout my little speech.  My heart swelled as I reveled in having achieved success in a “teachable moment”.

It was a perfect parenting moment.  Until it wasn’t.

My precious jewel looked up at me, shrugged, and with all sincerity proclaimed, “I guess I a dog.”

Mama got schooled.

She still lets dogs lick her face, but I’m happy to report she no longer has a taste for dog food.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Haha this story is hilarious! I love hearing it, makes me laugh everytime!

  2. treymc44 permalink

    Yay! First one to comment! Have been the first in forever!

    • Yeah, you better step up, other people are beating you to it! LOL….just kidding. I forgot I also said I’d text you when I post since you don’t check your email much. The problem is my posts usually get done in the middle of the night. 🙂

      • treymc44 permalink

        Ha ha, that is true but since you have started this challenge I check it every morning! So I’m getting better! Lol

  3. Ha ha, an epic moment in our families history that will never be forgotten.

  4. LOL. Every so often I wonder what the only two foods that Molly the Cat eats actually taste like, just so I have an idea of what it is she likes.

    Here’s my Liebster Award post, Rhonda. Thanks again for nominating me. 🙂
    http://su-sieeemac.blogspot.com/2013/04/a-sweetheart-of-award.html

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

