Skip to content

Losing Layla

April 15, 2013

a-to-z-letters-l

Last week I posted about a family pet that we lost a few years ago.  It’s hard to believe that only four days after I paid tribute to Ginger we lost another pet.  Her name was Layla and she was one of our well-loved Boxers.  Her death was sudden and utterly unexpected.

Layla came into our lives eight years ago as a pup.

transferred from pc2 004

She had such a regal air about her it didn’t take long for us to tease that she was a snob.  She carried that regal poise throughout her life:

Once when I was creating a backdrop for a sports banquet, I had tulle draped all over the place.  Layla took her place in the midst with her head held high. It was an unplanned but perfect photo shoot.

Once when I was creating a backdrop for a sports banquet, I had tulle draped all over the place. Layla took her place in the midst with her head held high. It was an unplanned but perfect photo shoot.

 

This was a typical pose for Layla. She'd find anything she could prop her front paws up on and survey the room, as if making sure we were all serving her properly. ;)

This was a typical pose for Layla. She’d find anything she could prop her front paws up on and survey the room, as if making sure we were all serving her properly. 😉

 

A good example of “serving Her Royal Highness properly” is scratching her in the right places, and she made sure we did.  Anytime I tried to pet Layla, whether it be down her back or atop her head, she moved my arm with her paw to position my hand in front of her chest, as if to say, “No, scratch me here.”  As soon as I stopped scratching her chest, she’d place her paw on me until I scratched again. If I ignored her she’d “poke” me with her paw until I resumed scratching her.  *sigh*

She was so high maintenance sometimes.  Okay, most of the time.

Back in the days of MySpace, I entered some pictures of Layla on a page dedicated to pet photo contests.  She won for Best Sunbath and placed second for Best Pouty Face.  (The embellishments were added to my photos by the owner of the page when she won.)

1laylacopy

 

1dragolaylacopy

Boxers look sad most of the time, but Layla had definite “happy faces” too:

Layla was infamously known for two things — jumping and licking.  She’d lick you for hours if you’d let her, but most people don’t really like that.  She knew not to lick my oldest son, my son-in-law, and my husband.  But she wanted to sooooo bad.  She would sit in front of them and lick the air with fervor, as if she just couldn’t help herself.  It was kind of crazy.

As for her jumping,  a picture is worth a thousand words.  Here’s a picture of what happened when Layla saw a squirrel (pre-doggy door days):

IMG_3659

We loved “dressing Layla up” for pictures.  We liked to pretend she liked it, too:

I never got around to making this into a Christmas card, but that was the plan. And just so you know, we ALL took a turn with the nose and antlers. Maybe I'll share those pictures someday!

I never got around to making this into a Christmas card, but that was the plan. And just so you know, we ALL took a turn with the nose and antlers. Maybe I’ll share those pictures someday!

 

St. Patty's Dog.

St. Patty’s Dog.

 

I won’t bore you with further dog stories that perhaps only an owner can love, but will end with this slide show in remembrance of our precious Layla.  She left our lives too soon and too suddenly, but she will forever remain in our hearts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

♥ Rest in peace, Layla. ♥

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. my heart goes out to you. She is back playing with her buddy. Savour the memories and smile at the photos you have of her. She was gorgeous!

    • Thank you, so much. I’m glad now that I take so many pictures. They really do keep memories alive.
      Thank you for reading, and for your kind words. 🙂

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Once again you have me crying at work. Wish I was home to hug and kiss her one last time. Her and ginger are probably causing havoc in heaven right now lol. I’m sorry I’m not home to hug you right now :(. I can’t believe she is gone. She was so stubborn I thought she would live forever. I don’t think I can take anymore beloved pets passing. It’s killing me. But looking at all the pics reminds me of the great time we had with them and all the love they brought to our lives. They will always have part of my heart.

    • I’m sorry, sweetie. It has been a shock to all of us. It’s still hard to believe. Since Friday she’s the first thing I’m thinking about when I wake up and the last thing I think about before I go to sleep at night. It’s still surreal to me. Yeah, I thought she’d live forever, too. 🙂

  3. Such and amazing tribute to Layla! I’m so sorry for y’alls loss, I know I’ll miss her too! I still have a bunch of pictures of her from when we were in Houston and I was watching her, in my trailer for yall while you went to walmart, she felt right at home and sat like a human at my table, one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen!

    • I actually looked for that picture to include, but couldn’t find it. Layla loved you, as we all know. 🙂

  4. treymc44 permalink

    Yeah its on my computer I think. Lol I loved her! I will miss her!

  5. jill permalink

    I am so sorry Rhonda, what happened to her? It is awful losing a pet, they are so much apart of our lives and love us so unconditionally!!!

    • We aren’t sure, yet. We took her to the vet for an autopsy to find out, in case it is something weird around here that could endanger our other dogs. We won’t get results until sometime this week. I researched a little online and it seems sudden death is common in boxers due to cardiomyopathy (a heart thing). Very sad because an asymptomatic dog can just drop dead. That’s what seems to have happened with Layla. The dogs were outside enjoying the nice weather. My son went outside and saw Layla sleeping (he thought). Being the pesterer that he is, he squirted her with the water hose. She didn’t move so he did it again. She didn’t move again so he went to her and she was gone. He came inside and told me all that. I couldn’t believe it. It’s still hard to believe!
      Thank you for your kind words!

  6. Sweet Layla! And you have some great doggie pictures! I love the one where she’s in the air, hilarious!!

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

