Skip to content

Political Plebe

April 21, 2013

a-to-z-letters-p

Plebe (noun):  person just learning something

I’m not really just learning about political things.  I’ve been learning most of my life, but at a very . . . slow . . . pace.

I rarely comment on political issues because I’m pretty much a political moron.  Okay, that might be a little harsh, but not by much.

I find it all boring and sometimes confusing.  The classes I abhorred in high school and college were Government and Economics.  I did well enough in those classes to protect my 4.0 GPA, but the information I retained long enough to ace the tests was yawned right back out.

When I’m with people who start talking politics my mind can generate but one thought:

“Wow, you’re really smart.”

Then I remove myself from the conversation post-haste.

No, I don’t say, “Wow, you’re really smart” out loud.  Give me a little credit.

I’m wise enough to keep that thought to myself, because the person speaking could very well be spouting pure rubbish or something I would actually disagree with if I understood it.

I’ve sat across the dinner table from my husband thinking this very thought as we discussed current issues in the news.  I can usually contribute a modicum of feedback, but before long I’m nodding in agreement and hoping he doesn’t notice the extra glaze in my eyes.

If he looks close enough though, he’ll see past the glaze and find admiration. I may not know what he’s talking about, but I find it quite attractive that he does. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. It all makes sense now, you really do think I’m “full of rubbish”, ha ha. I’m feeling a bit guilty though, for boring you to death and for ignoring when your eyes glaze over. I love you!

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Haha mom you’re silly! Dad: mum thinks you look sexy doing it so just keep it up! Wink wink lol

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

