Skip to content

R is for Rise Up

April 21, 2013

a-to-z-letters-r

 

I have a tendency to be a little pessimistic. Shh.  Don’t tell anyone.

I don’t mean to be.  I just always have too much to do and too little time to do it in. So I get tired and cranky.

I don’t like this about myself; so I try to stay aware and redirect myself toward positivity.

Negativity drains energy.  Positivity energizes.  I definitely prefer the latter.

I’ve come up with little ways to goad myself into a more positive mindset.  I don’t want my loved ones to start calling me “Scrooge” (or worse!).

One of my self-energizing tools is this quote:

 

rise up

 

I have this quote stuck on my mirror where I can see it every day as a reminder to keep my chin up.  It is amazing the difference a small change in attitude can make.

Another reminder I use to keep myself on the right track involves “rising up” as well.

Proverbs 31:28 says of the virtuous woman:

“Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her…”

I tend to be a night owl because I can accomplish more without all the interruptions I get during the day.  This makes mornings really hard for me.

A few years ago I set up a reminder on my phone alarm that said “If you want your children and husband to rise up and call you blessed, then RISE UP AND BE A BLESSING!”

Given that I can’t actually see all that well when the alarm is sounding, I moved that reminder to places I’d actually see it.  For a while it was on my night stand so I’d see it before I went to sleep.

Different things work for different people, but that little reminder is pretty convicting for me.

Do you struggle with negativity? If so, what do you do to snap out of it?

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Kensi Kempf permalink

    I knew as soon as I saw the title that that scripture was going to be part of the blog. Always remember you liking that verse. When I feel negativity it’s usually because I’m stressing out or worrying about things. I just remind myself what the bible says about worrying. Just gotta remember god takes care of everything we need so it’s useless to worry. I also realize I’m being more that way when I’m not taking enough time for myself. Working out always makes me more positive!

    • Yeah, I need to get working out back into my life. I’ve been saying that for a really long time, but I really need to just do it. 🙂

  2. It must be working because you are definitely a blessing to all of us!

    • Mmm, cheese (as Darren would say). Ha ha, just kidding! You are a blessing, too, my dear!

  3. Great post and nice quote to inspire yourself with! 🙂

  4. treymc44 permalink

    Awesome post! I’m gonna have to steal your idea! Haha ill start texting this to you Monday-Friday haha.

    • I’m not sure what you’re talking about, Trey…are you talking about texting me this quote to get me to the gym? LOL

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

5 Things to Do Today

If you always do what you always did then you always get what you always got

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

