Skip to content

Sure of Him

April 22, 2013

a-to-z-letters-s

 

I don’t remember being particularly crazy about A. A. Milne’s Winnie the Pooh stories as a child.  They all seemed silly and I was SURE I was far too mature for them.

As an adult I have come to appreciate the simple wisdom and inspiration found in the tales of Christopher Robin and his friends, the inhabitants of the Hundred Acre Wood. One of my favorite quotes comes from Piglet:

 

pooh_and_piglet

 

 

Sometimes in life we simply need to be sure of each other.  There is immeasurable comfort and peace in knowing we are not alone.

Tim and I like to cuddle before we go to sleep, but we like to sleep on our own sides of the bed.  Sometimes Tim will hold me until he thinks I’ve drifted off to sleep, then he’ll kiss me and retreat to his side.  Other nights when we are both exhausted, we’ll cuddle until one of us blurts out, “I’m done!”

We laugh, and the other usually responds with, “Me, too!”

We exchange a final goodnight kiss and turn our backs to each other and settle into our own territories.  Before long my foot will find its way to Tim’s leg (he’s much taller than I am) and find a place to settle without bothering him. Like Piglet with Pooh, I just want to be sure of him.

This quote from Piglet also reminds me of the times my husband gently guides me through a dark, crowded theater with his protective hand on the small of my back. It’s not that I fear being harmed in that place; it’s just nice to know he is still right beside or behind me.

Especially if a riot breaks out.

Tim’s had plenty of  time to pick up on the fact that I have a slightly irrational aversion to crowds.

Over the years Tim has learned little ways to keep me “sure of him.” Because his job keeps him out of town more often than not, he puts in extra effort to help fill the voids that distance can cause.

When Tim is working he is up several hours before I am. Every single morning he sends me a good-morning text with various terms of endearment and affectionate nicknames.  He keeps it interesting by making them different everyday.  Not long ago he got so creative with his pet names, he kept me laughing and anticipating what would come next for a good two weeks.

I cried the day I accidentally deleted the entire thread from my phone.

Tim isn’t often one to make grand romantic gestures.  But that’s okay with me.  He is consistent in his effort to keep me SURE OF HIM.

And my heart is full. 🙂

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Kayla Dickens permalink

    Very very sweet. I smiled the whole way through.

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Aweeee!!! How sweet!!!! 🙂

  3. Gloria Jackson permalink

    Aww! So sweet. So glad you can be sure. We certainly all need that and we all need to recognize that thankfully we do have our “Be Sures.” Very sweet post.

  4. There you go, making me tear up again, lol. I always feel like I don’t do enough. I hope I can always make you sure of me, because I am sure of us.

    • Am I the only one that keeps wanting to say, “Raise your hand if you’re sure?” Lol…I kept thinking that the whole time I was writing this. 🙂
      Sorry I made you tear up, but kinda glad. 🙂

  5. Touching. As I read this, I couldn’t help but think of my relationship with God. Sometimes, life gets so difficult, I need to feel sure He is still there for me.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I wrote this post last night, and before I went to sleep I thought about the very same thing. We have His Word, but sometimes it helps to have other ways to be sure, doesn’t it?

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

---HIS EYE IS ON THIS SPARROW--- Still Learning to lean on God

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

