Skip to content

X Marks Me

April 29, 2013

a-to-z-letters-x

 

So far, the letter X has been the hardest letter for me in the A to Z Challenge. Coming up with an “X” topic was no easy task for a rule-follower like me.

There are only so many words that start with X and I don’t have much to say about most of them.

Then I ran across a few unusual X words that apply to yours truly:

  • xanthippe: ill-tempered woman (about once a month)
  • xenodocheionology: love of hotels (because if I’m in one, I’m away from the daily grind)
  • xenodochial: hospitable; kindly to strangers (sometimes I embarrass my kids by laughing it up with total strangers)
  • xenomorphic: having a form not its own (years ago I discovered that someone older and less fit traded butts with me)

So there ya go.  Now I can tell my husband I’m even better than XXX-rated. I’m QUADRUPLE X-RATED.

Which makes me a quadruple X-rated quadragenarian.

He’ll be so thrilled. 🙂

P.S.  I’d be happy to downgrade to the XXX rating if the butt thief would kindly switch back with me. 🙂

 

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Oh Lordy, you make me laugh

  2. As your brother, I don’t even want to touch the Triple-X butt comments with a ten-foot pole (see what I did there?)…

    I do have a comment, though… if “xenodocheion” is “a building for the reception of strangers, especially in a monastery,” then wouldn’t “xenodocheionology” mean something more like “the study of such buildings”? Would’t the “love of hotels” be more like “xenodocheiophilia”?

    • I don’t always comment….LOL

      Actually, you know better than I do. These words weren’t in my dictionary so I trusted the source. And maybe you should put out lists like the one I stumbled upon, so that there is more accurate information out there. 🙂

    • And yes, I “saw what you did there” and thanks for not touching the butt with a ten-foot pole!

  3. You were more creative. I cheated and did Xtreme Couponing.

    • Hey, whatever works, right? With only two letters left I’m finding myself more stumped than I was with Q and X. It’s a good thing the alphabet doesn’t have 52 letters instead of 26!

  4. treymc44 permalink

    Hahahahaha.

  5. Whitney Cox permalink

    Another good one!

  6. I enjoyed this post, and the next time that I pull on my jeans and they are a little tight, I will feel much better saying, “I’m just xenomorphic. I don’t need to give up ice cream.”

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

---HIS EYE IS ON THIS SPARROW--- Still Learning to lean on God

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

