Skip to content

Zoos, Zebras or Zilch

April 30, 2013

a-to-z-letters-z

 

Zoos and Zebras. Yeah, I know—not very original.

It’s either that or Zilch. Or Zero. In which case this post would be done about now.

“Zoo” may not be very original, but it’s a pretty natural choice for me. Christopher (my youngest son) and I love going to zoos.  He has always enjoyed zoos a little more than my other kids did, and I like taking pictures at the zoo.

Even though he’s on the verge of turning sixteen, Christopher has always been and ever remains my official Zoo Buddy. When we travel we try to squeeze in visits to any zoos we haven’t been to before, or even zoos we’ve already visited.

Some of the zoos we’ve been to are in Houston, Austin, Omaha, San Francisco, Denver, and of course the Amarillo Zoo. There might be more.

Sometimes I forget things.

In honor of the letter “Z” I will share only pictures that pertain to it.  I’ll save the others for some other time.

You’re welcome.

There are more zoo creatures than you’d think with a name starting with Z. Lucky for you, I’m not going to go into all of them.

I will share three Z creature photos before I call it a night to get my own Zzzzzzzzzz’s:

 

A zeren, or Mongolian gazelle

A zeren, or Mongolian gazelle

 

A Zebra, of Course!

A Zebra, of Course!

 

A Longfin pennant fish. But it looks like a zebra.

A Longfin pennant fish. But it looks like a zebra.

Ok, so that last one is a bit of a cheat.  There really is a Zebra fish, but it isn’t nearly as pretty as this fish.  I think the Longfin pennant fish is much more deserving of the Zebra name.

But that’s just me.

And that’s it for me with Z.

Congratulations to everyone who finished (or will finish) the A to Z Challenge, and virtual fist bump to all of you who gave it your best effort—even if you didn’t finish.

Now, I’m going to go catch up on some well deserved Zzzzzz’s.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. Delightful and well presented. You have charm and your writing it plucky and to the point. Thank you for a lovely post and my heartiest congratulations on winding up this challenge in such grand style. Cheers.

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………………….

    • Well, looky who’s here! Thank you Michael, for your kind words. I am honored. Now I must hop on over to your place and see if you’ve finished yet, so I can congratulate you, as well!

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    Good job!!! You finished it!

  3. Congratulations on completing the A to Z Challenge.
    Yvonne.
    A to Z Ambassador:

  4. Gloria Jackson permalink

    Glad you completed your challenge! A job well done!

  5. K.Jacqleene permalink

    Fun way to wrap up the challenge. I’m grew up in Ohio, home of the Columbus Zoo and the famous Jack Hannah. It is quite awesome. You and your son should visit there some time. I looked up the Zebra Fish and you are right, the long fin pennant fish is much more deserving of the title. I enjoyed your posts on the challenge. I’ll keep checking in as time permits. Great Job!

    • Thank you! I love that you took the time to look up the Zebra Fish. I was worried this post would be a real yawn-fest. 🙂
      I hope I can get up to the Columbus Zoo sometime. I looked it up, and it looks awesome.Thank you for visiting my blog, and for the comments and encouragement. I really do appreciate it! 🙂

  6. treymc44 permalink

    Glad you finished! You take Really good pictures! Lol

    • Well, thank you. I’ve got better; these just met the post requirements. 🙂

      • treymc44 permalink

        We want more, we want more!!! We really like it we want more!!!

        • Haha, Trey, that made me laugh! I can’t believe three months have passed with no posting from me! Ugh! I guess I need a challenge every month to keep me going! Hopefully soon I’ll get back in the groove! 🙂

  7. YOU DID IT — and it didn’t kill you. (And you’re very funny, dear)

  8. Beautiful photo of the zebra. I love that your son still enjoys visiting zoos with you and that you find new zoos to check out. 🙂 Congrats on completing a-z.

  9. Wanted to respond to your post on my A-Z guest post but also wanted you to see it! I think you should definitely start up blogging again. I thought the same way as you- nobody will care- but I enjoy it so I keep it up! And i promise I’ll come visit 😉

    • How sweet of you to take time to throw some encouragement my way! Thank you so much!
      I am hoping to get started again very soon, and your kind words definitely help. Thanks again! 🙂

  10. Who knew! I have to remember these for scrabble! Hope you got some much needed zzzzzs.

    • Hi, Scott! I love scrabble. I can’t get anyone to play with me anymore. HA! I do have a few people who will play Words With Friends with me, though.
      Yes, I got the much needed zzzzzs-apparently too many. I haven’t managed to post a single thing since the A to Z Challenge ended. I need to get back in the groove!
      Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Z is for Zoo | Dizzy Stir

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

---HIS EYE IS ON THIS SPARROW--- Still Learning to lean on God

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

