Skip to content

R’s, T’s, and Hurry Up, Please

August 23, 2013

My nephew’s wife of fourteen months, Taylor, is a get ‘er done kind of gal. Before you can even think “she wants it done yesterday”, Taylor will have already completed the task.

I’m not exaggerating.

Back in April, RT and Taylor were struggling to come up with names for the son they were expecting.  They wanted the baby’s initials to be R.T., after RT and his dad. They are Richard Todd and Richard Todd II.  RT didn’t want to name his son Richard Todd III, but he wanted to keep the initials the same.

My sister, Robin, is the baby’s grandma. This baby is Todd’s and Robin’s first grandchild. After spending a weekend with Robin throwing every “R” and “T” name she could think of at RT and Taylor, I thought posting a contest might drum up some names none of us had come up with yet.

With RT’s and Taylor’s permission, I posted the contest and guidelines for names.  In true Taylor “get ‘er done” fashion, the proud parents decided on a name within a couple of days of my post. *sigh*

A few (very few) people did have a chance to participate, though.  I will announce the winners at the end of this post.

The name they decided on is Ryker Thrice.  Ryker has the same meaning as Richard: “powerful ruler”.  It also means “son of Richard”.

That’s probably about as close to naming him “Richard” as they could get without actually naming him “Richard”, don’t ya think? Clever.

Thrice means “three times, as in succession”.  It is also the name of one of RT’s favorite bands.

He might be named after his dad and grandpa, but it’s clear that little Ryker Thrice has his mommy’s expeditious personality.  He decided to come into this world almost a month before his September 1st due date. Ryker Thrice was born on August 3, 2013.

Why does that date sound familiar? Oh, right, that was the date of the baby shower.  That baby shower had less of a chance than the baby name contest. As a hostess of the shower, I was notified around 6:00 a.m. on August 3rd that the shower would be canceled because Taylor was in labor.

My first thought was that it was too soon and I immediately prayed that the baby would be okay. He was perfectly fine.  He weighed a healthy 6 lb., 3 oz., and measured 19″ long. He didn’t have to spend a single minute in the NICU. Even just shy of a month premature, Ryker was as healthy as full-term newborn. Many prayers of thanksgiving went up that day.

My second thought was that he had his mother’s personality already.

Just for fun, here are a couple of pictures of the Pinterest-inspired centerpiece that my daughter, Whitney, and I made for the baby shower:

Isn’t that cute? If it had made it to the shower, it would have been placed in the center of a giant fruit tray. We had fun making it. It was Whitney’s idea to add the watermelon shreds for red hair. This red-headed melon baby was inspired by Ryker’s daddy. Not many babies are born with red hair, but RT was.

Congratulations, RT and Taylor, on the birth of your perfect little son, Ryker Thrice! Congratulations to Todd and Robin on the birth of their first grandchild. Congratulations also to the maternal grandparents, Rex and Stacy.

I may as well congratulate myself, too. Ryker is my first great-nephew. I’ll never forget when RT called to tell me they were pregnant.  He said, “I just called to tell you you’re a great aunt.” Since I hadn’t done anything all that special as his aunt recently, I decoded the message immediately. They were going to have a baby!

And finally, congratulations to the winners of the Name-That-Baby drawing, Sheila Grimes and April Doyle (winners each get a $25 Amazon gift card). Since no one submitted a name that was chosen, I drew two names instead of one for those who participated.

I’m great like that. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Adorable fruit bassinet!!! Love the baby’s belly button. Congratulations Great aunt! August 3rd also happens to be one of my grandson’s birthdate, he turned two this year.

    • Thank you! We had fun with it.
      Two is a fun (and busy!) age. I am soooo ready for grandkids. I have two daughters that are married and I try not to pressure them, but I do drop hints now and then. 🙂

  2. Nice of you to pull winners from the contest, I’m sure they loved the $25…also very funny centerpiece – hilarious, love it. Oddly, it still looks delicious!

  3. Saw this link when you stopped to comment on Pamela’s post. I LOVE your melon baby. Someone has to get pregnant now so I can do that!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by my very neglected blog! And thanks for the kind words. The melon baby was really fun to do.

  4. Well, at least the new parents had plenty of fresh fruit to munch on 🙂 Congrats on your great-nephew!!

    Stopping by from A to Z 🙂

    • Thank you, and thank you for commenting!

      It’s a good reminder of how long it’s been since I posted anything…..thanks for the kick in the pants! 🙂

  5. shilpaagarg permalink

    Congratulations to all the family and hope Ryker is doing well and growing up fast too 🙂
    Looking forward to read your posts this April for the A to Z Challenge, Rhonda 🙂
    Shilpa Garg
    Co-Host AJ’s wHooligan for the A to Z Challenge 2014

    • Thank you! He IS growing fast, and is adorable. Thanks for stopping by and for the encouragement!

  6. kentuckygal50 permalink

    That is ADORABLE! Can’t wait to see what you have cooked up for A to Z!

    LuAnn Braley
    AJ’s Hooligans @AtoZChallenge
    Back Porchervations

    • Thank you! And thank you for stopping by my blog. I’ll be flying by the seat of my pants for the challenge again this year. 🙂

  7. anitashultz permalink

    for some reason, I can’t shake the sense that you may be a Virgo…. 😉

    • Actually, I’m a Pisces. 🙂 But I’m curious as to why you thought I may be a Virgo. 🙂

      • anitashultz permalink

        Control. I’m a Virgo. It was a backhanded compliment. 😉

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

---HIS EYE IS ON THIS SPARROW--- Still Learning to lean on God

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

