Skip to content

V is for Vineyard

April 26, 2014

V

 

I’m not really a wine drinker, as I have yet to find a wine I like the taste of. However, I think vineyards are beautiful. I was surprised to find that there are a few vineyards in Middle Tennessee. I guess I thought all wine came from Italy or California. That’s kind of crazy considering my own brother got married in a winery in Lubbock, Texas. It’s easy to reason that wineries are everywhere, but the word vineyard conjures images of Tuscany or Napa Valley—for me, anyway.

Can you tell that wine hasn’t been an area of much interest in my life? Most, if not all, of my knowledge of vineyards probably comes from A Walk in the Clouds starring Keanu Reeves. That movie makes me want to move to Italy and dance on grapes with my bare feet.

Who cares that I don’t care for wine? I love that movie. I love the Old World culture and the close-knit family, even though their way of life might seem archaic to some. The Italian family is so convincing I forgot that the movie is actually set in California, not Italy. The whole movie might represent romantic notions that aren’t real, but that’s what I think of when I think of vineyards. I get downright dreamy—and I don’t typically do dreamy.

Oh well, back to the present. The closest vineyard to Nashville is Arrington Vineyards, which is just a few miles south of Franklin. Owned by country music artist Kix Brooks, winemaker Kip Summers, and entrepreneur John Russell, Arrington Vineyards has become “Nashville’s Wine Country.”

In 2009 they established their exclusive “Kix’s Wine Club,” which ships wine to thousands of members in 35 states. The vineyard’s wines have also been featured in restaurants in New York City, New Orleans, and Nashville.

Visitors to the winery are encouraged to bring a picnic lunch or dinner to enjoy along with their award-winning wines and the beautifully scenic 75 acres. You can picnic on the grass with your own blanket or lawn chairs, but they also have an outdoor bistro and picnic tables available. There are no restaurants in Arrington or at the winery. They do sell gourmet chocolates, cheese, crackers, and sausage. I’m going to have to get some gourmet chocolate. It just seems right since that’s what Keanu’s character in the movie sold for a living.

There is also a little place nearby that will deliver a picnic meal in a cooler to you at Arrington vineyards if you let them know when you’ll be arriving. You can order from a small selection in advance, ranging from a small Tuscan picnic to a gourmet celebration package that even includes fresh flowers. That’s easy. Then all you have to do is leave the cooler and any included dinnerware at the vineyard for them to pick up.

They sell wine by the bottle at Arrington and have wine tastings every day of the week.  The wine tastings take place inside in the wine tasting room and are on a first-come, first-served basis. It isn’t unusual to have a wait time for the tasting room. It is currently free to participate in the wine tasting, but that will reportedly change soon.

They have what they call “Music in the Vines” every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. These are free live music events featuring different styles of jazz in their tented winery courtyard where you can view the beautiful sunsets while tasting their wines.

You can book private events at the Arrington Vineyards, but not on Saturdays or Sundays. One of the events you can book is a hot air balloon ride. Imagine the view from a hot air balloon. Imagine the anxiety of being in a hot air balloon. Maybe the view would make up for it. 🙂

This is one of the more potentially romantic venues I’ve found in my cyber-exploration of the Nashville area. Since it will be an anniversary trip, I vote yes. Note to Tim: I promise not to dance on the grapes.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I can’t think of anything I would like to see more than you dancing on the grapes! The baloon ride sounds fun too. I’m in!

    • Dude, I made a promise; I must keep it. I can handle a balloon ride if you don’t mind me hanging on to you for dear life. 🙂

  2. Kensi Kempf permalink

    A picnic and then a hot air balloon ride sounds awesome.

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

