Skip to content

Yearning for Yellow Bellies and Yellow Rumps

April 30, 2014

Y

 

Yearning for Yellow Bellies and Yellow Rumps—sounds a little weird, huh? It isn’t.

I’m a little late on my Y post for the A to Z Challenge. (It didn’t help that WordPress refused to load pictures into my post, making me a day later than I already was. Thanks, WordPress.) Before that, I hadn’t been able to find any attractions in Nashville that start with Y,  so I knew I’d have to get creative. Some days creativity doesn’t just show up and beg to flow through me.

While I was reading about Nashville hoping to get inspired, a funny thing happened: I got inspired. I stumbled across an article about birds in Tennessee. I know that doesn’t sound very exciting, but hang with me—there’s a reason I chose birds as my “Nashville attraction” Y.

My two youngest kids have been known to make fun of me for my love of birds. They say every outdoor excursion we take I’m constantly taking pictures of birds and flowers. I can’t deny it, but my fascination isn’t really limited to birds and flowers. I get excited over any kind of wildlife, even squirrels and other rodents. I have what some might think an embarrassing number of pictures of squirrels. I’m not ashamed. All animals, wild or tame, captivate me. I never plan to take hundreds of pictures of birds or any other creature. It’s an impulse that turns into a mission as soon as I start shooting.

If I could clone myself, one of me would be a wildlife photographer. I’d go to Africa and shoot lions and giraffes and such. The other clones would likely be jealous.

Given my affinity to photographing birds, it stands to reason that it will happen on vacation. Needing a Nashville attraction for Y, I looked up all the birds in the area hoping that some would have names that start with Y. From the Tennessee website for Watchable Wildlife, I discovered thirteen different birds that reside in Middle Tennessee and more specifically, Nashville. I eliminated two that are “casual” migrants, meaning they occur with some frequency but not every year.

That left me with eleven birds in the Nashville area that start with Y. Three of those will also be eliminated from our birds-to-photograph list. We are not likely to find them on our vacation because we will be in Nashville in a different season than the birds. This is where the yearning comes in.

I’m glad to knock my list down to eight, because I don’t want this post to be too long. However, I hate that two of the birds we won’t get to see have the two best names. They won’t be posing for us this summer, but I have to at least tell you their names.

The first is the Yellow-bellied Sapsucker. That name makes me smile. It sounds like it needs to be in an Orbit “Dirty Mouth” commercial. Remember those? The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker would fit right in with a doo-doo-head cootie queen, a lint licker, or a Stinky McStink-face, don’t you think?

The second bird with the cool name is the Yellow-rumped Warbler. That’s not quite as funny as the first one, but it’s at least as funny as a kumquat, which is from the same Orbit gum commercial. Even more fun is that birders affectionately call this warbler “Butter Butt.”

I really wish I could get pictures of these two birds just because I love their names. Weird, I know.

Because I can’t leave it out, the third bird eliminated because of timing issues is the Yellow-bellied Flycatcher.  If the name means what it implies, I’d like to have one at my home in the summertime. 🙂

Of the eight birds left that will be in Tennessee during the summer, there are two more I can eliminate from this post for the sake of brevity, which I failed about 550 words ago (sorry). I will still look for these birds, but it isn’t likely that I will find them, either because of their habits or their arrival time in the state. They are the Yellow-crowned Night Heron and the Lesser Yellowlegs.

That leaves us with six birds we stand a chance of seeing and photographing. Tennessee’s Watchable Wildlife website has all kinds of information to arm myself with for the best chance at spotting these birds, but I won’t bore you with all that information. This post is already long, so I’ll to try be brief with the birds we will focus on finding.

I’ll start with the bird we are most likely to find. The Common Yellow Throat is one of the most abundant wood warblers nesting in Tennessee.  Although it is common, it can be hard to see because it typically stays low in thick, marshy or brushy vegetation. It does have distinctive markings and a distinctive call that make it easy to identify if found.

Common yellow throat male

Male Common Yellow Throat
source

Another bird that is pretty common to the area in the summer is the Yellow Warbler. It is the most yellow of all the warblers.

Yellow Warbler source

Yellow Warbler
source

The Yellow-throated Vireo is also common enough that our chances of sighting one are pretty good. It is the most colorful of all warblers, with a bright yellow wash over its head and breast and prominent yellow “spectacles” around its eyes. It is sometimes overlooked because it moves slowly in the highest layer of the trees and is a less persistent singer than some of the other vireos.

Yellow-throated Vireo source

Yellow-throated Vireo
source

The Yellow-throated Warbler arrives in Tennessee earlier in the spring than most other warblers. I’d love to get pictures of this beauty.

Yellow-throated Warbler source

Yellow-throated Warbler
source

The last two birds on my list are common to the area, but might take a little work to spot. The Yellow-billed Cuckoo is not easily seen because of its habit of waiting motionless for long periods, watching for an insect or caterpillar. My zoom lens might help, or maybe we need binoculars.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo Source

Yellow-billed Cuckoo
Source

Last is the Yellow-breasted Chat. This little bird is often overlooked because it keeps itself well hidden in dense, brushy vegetation.

Yellow-breasted Chat source

Yellow-breasted Chat
source

These are the birds I’ll be looking for on our trip to Nashville. I’m anxious to see how many of the likely six I will get a shot of. I’m pretty persistent, so maybe I’ll even get all of the eight possibles. I’ll let you know how many I find. I’ll also let you know how many times Tim asks if we’re done yet. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Love the bird pictures! We used to get a lot of goldfinches when we lived in Portland, Oregon. They were stunning, especially when an entire flock would land.

    Your blog is fun and easy to load and read.

    BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog. The A to Z Challenge has sure been fun. (I’m a day late, but Z will go up tomorrow.)

    Geri
    http://www.gerijeter.com

    • Thanks! I hope the next time I post bird pictures they will be my own!
      My husband grew up in Depot Bay, Oregon. It sure is beautiful there. I’d love to see an entire flock of goldflinches.
      Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by and reading my blog. The Challenge has been fun for me, too. It went by a lot faster than last year, it seems like.

  2. Love your bird pictures! I enjoy wildlife and nature as well. Great post! 🙂

    • Thank you. I can’t wait to take pictures of my own. Thank you for stopping by and for commenting!

Get Dizzy with me! I love comments and will answer them all.

Tarmangani

Dennis L. Goshorn, God Follower, History Enthusiast

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Modified Editing Services

Professional Editing and Creative Consulting

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

His Eye Is On This Sparrow, Heartfelt Thoughts by Elizabeth Yalian

Fully Embracing God's Gift of Love, Grace, and Hope

Apoplectic Apostrophes

Confessions of a Grammar Ghoul

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

A Complete Waste of Makeup

...some days just are...

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Editor Queries

thoughts on editing, writing, style

The Editors' Weekly

Official blog of Canada's national editorial association

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

Dancing In The Weeds

The Art of Everyday Living

Uphill And Down

Taking on Life's Adventures

Plucking Of My Heartstrings

Blogging on a variety of things that pluck at the hearts' emotions & more

Marie, Let's Eat!

We live in Tennessee, eat well, and tell the world about it.

Becky Due - Author

Motivation to Love Your Life

